Mortgage Rates

Mortgage Rates Today

Transfer Tax

The following article will cover all aspects of  a Transfer Tax including: What is a Transfer Tax, How does a Transfer Tax work, What are the types of Transfer Taxes and why are Transfer Taxes important?
Transfer Tax Definition

What is a Transfer tax?

A transfer tax is a fee levied on the transfer of property title from one person (or business) to another.

A transfer tax is a fee imposed on the transfer of property ownership or title from one person or entity to another. A state, county, or municipality may levy a transfer tax. It is not normally deductible from federal or state income taxes, but it can be added to the costs for calculating profit on the sale of securities and investment property. In certain states, transfer tax is considered an excise tax.

Transfer tax process

For the privilege of transferring real property within the jurisdiction, state, county, or municipal authorities may levy a transfer tax on real estate. The transfer of a legal deed, certificate, or title from a seller to a buyer is effectively taxed by the government. The tax amount is determined by the property valuation as well as the categorization of the property.

The real estate transfer tax is the responsibility of the seller, while it is fairly unusual for the buyer to agree to pay the tax. If the seller does not pay the tax or is exempt from paying it, some states compel the buyer to pay it.

Types of transfer taxes?

A state can tax in a non-uniform manner in two ways: by imposing varying rates of tax on different categories of property, or by imposing a uniform rate of tax but assigning different percentages of value to different types of property. In certain places, if the seller is unable to pay the tax or is exempt from it, the buyer may be forced to pay it. The terms “transfer tax” and “gift tax” are used interchangeably in the United States. Both of these taxes impose a fee on the unrestricted transfer of property from one person (or that person’s estate) to another.

Because they all entail a tax on the transfer of title, inheritance tax, gift tax, capital gains tax, sales tax on products, and some use taxes are all transfer taxes in this wide meaning.

Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, North Dakota, and Wyoming are the only five states in the United States that do not have a real estate tax.

Importance of transfer taxes 

A transfer tax is simply a transaction charge levied on the transfer of title to property from one entity to another in a restricted legal sense. This type of tax is usually applied when there is a legal obligation for the transfer to be registered, such as in the case of real estate, stock, or bond transactions. Some types of stamp duty, real estate transfer tax, and charges for the official registration of a transfer are examples of such taxes. Certain types of property transactions require notary confirmation in various countries. While notarial fees might increase the closing cost in Virginia of a transaction, they are not a transfer tax in the traditional sense.

If you have any other questions regarding Transfer Taxes contact the mortgage experts at 864-397-8500 or click Mortgage Rates Today!